Site icon ALLIANCE SAILING CHARTER

TESTIMONIALS

We loved this experience so much!!! Mark & Caroline were the best tour guides. The sunset was incredible from the sailboat, definitely recommend.

Morgan, Hambleton, WV
April 2022

Mark and Caroline gave us a perfect sunset sail. They were extremely knowledgeable and fun. Their stories were interesting and the boat was clean and comfortable. We couldn’t have enjoyed it more. We highly recommend this experience.

Kathryn, Forest, VA
March 2022

Mark and Caroline made this excursion extremely enjoyable! They worked together to create a fun trip. The comfort and safety of their guests was their number one priority. Mark’s gift of storytelling added a special flavor and entertainment to the experience! Caroline took fabulous pictures of our evening that she shared—which was an amazing extra bonus! We would highly recommend this sailing experience!

Lori
March 2022

Fun & exciting experience with beautiful views! We had an amazing time. Mark and co-captain were professional sailors. Very personal and kind.

Maria, San Diego, CA
March 2022

Mark and Caroline created a friendly and warm experience. The sail was relaxing, interesting, and fun. A terrific way to enjoy this beautiful town. So happy we did this and would definitely enjoy another sail next time in town.

Sara, Jacksonville, FL
March 2022

Mark and Caroline are a great team. We spent a fantastic afternoon with them listening to Mark’s stories. Mark is a great story teller and a knowledgeable one. Very recommended!

Mirka, Chandler, AZ
March 2022

Mark and his wife were exceptional on this sailing trip. They made great adjustments considering the weather. They are both extremely knowledgeable about the area and are experts in sailing. We thoroughly enjoyed our first sailing experience with them.

Kristi, Oak Ridge, TN
March 2022

Mark and Adam were great! The weather was quite chilly but overall a good experience. Would recommend, possibly in the warmer months!

Johanna, North Carolina, United States
March 2022

Beautiful sunset sail! Would do again!

Kate, Phoenix, AZ
March 2022

This was such a wonderful experience! Mark and his crew are great people and we had an amazing time with them getting to learn new things about the Charleston area and listening to their fascinating stories. We also had a stunning view of one of the most beautiful sunsets I’ve ever seen. I would highly recommend this experience to both people who are visiting/new to Charleston or to those who live in the area.

Ally
March 2022

Sailing with Mark was the perfect way to start our visit. We’ve been to Charleston numerous times before, but really enjoyed getting to see the city from a new vantage point. Mark had lots of great stories and restaurant recommendations. He did a great job making every feel safe and welcome. As an added bonus, Mark captured and shared some great photos of us. I highly recommend the experience!

Blaine, Boone, NC
March 2022

We had such a fun time with Mark and his first mate on his sailboat! They were fun, accommodating and knowledgeable about the area, even my 81 year old grandma had a great time on her first sailboat ride. Would recommend to anyone.

Natalija, Kensington, MD

March 2022

Mark and his wife Carolyn are awesome people and you will love sailing with them!

Cristy, Greenville, SC
March 2022

Great experience for trips to Charleston! Mark and Caroline’s boat is beautiful and they show you many of the sites in Charleston Harbor. Highly recommend!

Katie, Lyndhurst, NJ
February 2022

Mark and Caroline were amazing! They gave us so much information and history as well as great recommendations around the city. They were great hosts and made a great team and our trip to Charleston was made so much better because of them. Thank you so much again!

Victoria, Yorba Linda, CA
February 2022

A definite must do while in town! Mark and Caroline are amazing hosts, tour guides, story tellers, sailors.

Matthew, Salem, MA
February 2022

Sailing with Mark and Caroline was fantastic! I highly recommend this experience. We will do it again! The sail was the highlight of our weekend in Charleston.

Donna, Irmo, SC
February 2022

Simply the best of the best. A wonderful experience sailing around the Charleston Harbor area with our amazing hosts Mark and Caroline. If you are in Charleston do not let this opportunity slip by.

William, Irmo, SC
February 2022

It was great to meet Mark and Caroline and the other guests. The sail was absolutely beautiful and it was great to hear a few stories and learn a little more about Charleston along the way. We saw some dolphins and caroline took some beautiful photos of us and the other guests. Mark and caroline were very thoughtful, making sure to have everything we may need on board. Would definitely recommend!!

Maura, Dallas, TX
February 2022

Fantastic experience! Mark and Kathleen went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They are very knowledgeable about the area and it’s history. They also provided us with recommendations for local restaurants and experiences. We enjoyed the gorgeous views at sunset and even spotted a few dolphins! 5/5 would book again!

Désirée, Virginia Beach, VA
February 2022

Mark and Caroline were super great! So friendly and welcoming, and really wanted their guests to have a great time!

Ellie
February 2022

This was a great and peaceful experience on Charleston Harbor. Mark is very personable and knowledgeable of the landscape.

Khadi, Davidson, NC
February 2022

The sailing experience was so much fun. I would highly recommend this experience to anyone.

Stacee, Huntersville, NC
February 2022

Great day on a sailboat! After going over the safety items & orientation on the facilities (so very needed & appreciated!) we set sail. Awesome conversation & insight to Charleston. Mark & Caroline are expert hosts & handle the sailboat Alliance like a favorite dance partner. Bring a hat! The wind can be intense. This was a favorite experience on my trip.

Veronica, Charlotte, NC
February 2022

This was such a great experience and I would recommend this to anyone in this area. My son and I had so much fun.

Becky, Vallejo, CA
February 2022

Mark and Caroline were the best hosts and made sure we enjoyed our experience from start to finish. We learned interesting facts about Charleston and saw so many dolphins. Great time!

Jennifer
February 2022

This sail was an amazing experience. I loved the hosts and felt their genuine love of what they do. The sail was incredible, complete with dolphins, photos and an incredible sunset. Mark and Caroline are experienced sailors with rich information and history of the region. With ten days in Charleston, this was the icing on the cake!

Sara, Roslyn, WA
February 2022

It’s a wonderful experience for someone who’s never been on a private boat tour before.

Lingao J, St. Louis, MO
February 2022

Being a local of the Charleston it is great to see the area from a different perspective. The boat was lovely and a great size.. the captain was so kind to accommodate one extra on the trip at the last min. I loved how much I got to learn about sailing and really enjoyed all the pictures that carol took of me and my family.. definitely will recommend this to any one I know who is visiting or even just want to do something as a local tourist

Dustin, Mount Pleasant, SC
February 2022

Hosts were great! A ton of stories, very accommodating. They went over and beyond a typical sail on the harbor

Dana, Detroit, MI
February 2022

Mark and Caroline were fantastic ! Very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Mark has some great stories that adds to the adventure ! It’s an intimate sail and you will get to know and enjoy the other guests around you! You definitely should book!

Julia
February 2022

Mark and his wife Caroline were sooo nice, hospitable and knowledgeable about sailing and all things Charleston! They gave great recommendations for things to do and where to go to eat. I would definitely book a trip on their boat again!

Jessica
January 2022

The whole time aboard at The Alliance was wonderful. Mark and his wife were a pleasure and we left feeling like we had spent an enjoyable evening with new friends.

Dennis, Wilmington, NC
January 2022

Sailing with Mark and his wife was absolutely a rejuvenating extraordinarily experience! Being in the presence of this couple sailing across the ocean warmed my heart and inspired me in many ways. They go out of their way to make sure you are safe and YES it is a must .. come out of isolation for a therapeutic ride at sea!!! I had severe knee pain I am so glad I pressed to go anyway.

Lorianne, Moorestown, NJ
January 2022

Whether you are a resident or visiting on a short stay, this sailboat cruise, the captain, and the crew are a must do event…enjoy!

David, Fredericksburg, VA
January 2022

Mark and his wife are the sweetest people, they are very thoughtful and made the entire experience as comfortable as possible for their guests. We had a great time although I was underdressed for the weather lol The sunset was stunning and you will not get the same experience anywhere else in the city. I’ve been to Charleston many times and this is the first time I looked at the city from a different view and it’s so refreshing! The architecture looked more stunning from the water and it give you a new perspective on this Holy City. Strongly recommend if you’d like to have an unique experience of the city.

Madison, Santa Monica, CA
January 2022

what an amazing experience. Mark and his wife were excellent hosts and felt like I made new friends.I felt safe and was able to see Charleston from a whole different perspective. Amazing sunset while passing under the bridge and all of the homes on the coastline looked incredible. I just wish it was warmer, but overall a very unique experience.

Michael, Los Angeles, CA
January 2022

⛵️ What a wonderful experience we had; our gracious hosts, the beautiful sailboat, breeze, route taken, history (often including on into present)… even the timing felt serendipitous to video a pod of dolphins and allow our group to take additional photographs of the sunset. Plus, thank you for the fabulous photos 📸 of the us too! ☆☆☆☆☆ ♡♡♡♡♡

Catherine
January 2022

Great sail, good folks, good time!

Neda, New York, United States
January 2022

Great guys, good boat, personable and great story teller. Loved the history download.

Randy, Charlotte, NC
January 2022

Awe-inspiring experience!

Fred, Dearborn Heights, MI
January 2022

Mark was a great captain and made us all feel very welcomed and comfortable. He’s also a great story teller, keeping things interesting, funny, and relaxed. It was an all around enjoyable time with him and his crew!

Kim, Greenville, SC
January 2022

I highly recommend taking this sailing trip. Me and my wife had the best time!! Would 10/10 do it again! Mark and Neal were great guys and made the trip entertaining the whole time.

Tucker, Davidson, NC
January 2022

We spent great time sailing with Mark and Caroline! They were super friendly and told us a lot of interesting stories. Our kids were happy to discover the yacht and enjoyed as much as adults. We would definitely recommend this experience and we’ll be happy to repeat one day!

Julia, Red Bank, TN
December 2021

Very personable, a beautiful boat, great history, and fantastic views! Very experienced crew!

Steven
December 2021

This was the perfect way to celebrate New Year’s Eve. Mark and Caroline were as much fun as the sailing. I can’t wait to come back and do this with my kids.

Michaux, Elgin, SC
December 2021

Mark and Caroline were FANTASTIC hosts. The sail was beautiful, peaceful and fun. They were super accommodating and great story tellers. My family and I had an amazing time and it was the best part of our Charleston trip. They also took some amazing photos for us including a full boat photo from their friends boat. 100% recommend for friends or families travelling.

Amy, New York, NY
December 2021

Mark, Caroline and Adam sailed us into the beautiful night. We could not ask for a better tour and will definitely be back when we visit again. Don’t hesitate booking this as you will have a magical experience on the water with some amazing people.

Heidi, Sea Cliff, NY
November 2021

We had a great time, and Mark went above and beyond to make sure everyone had a great experience.

Michael, Atlanta, GA
November 2021

Great experience

Andrew, St. Augustine, FL
November 2021

A bit chilly, but the hospitality and blankets made it much warmer… it was a wonderful experience!

Pamela
November 2021

it was a great experience with awesome story telling. would do it again

Nashville, TN
November 2021

We had a wonderful time sailing with Mark and Caroline. If you are thinking of booking a sailing tour in Charleston, this is definitely the one you want.

Brandon, Hazen, ND
November 2021

Truly could not ask for a better experience! Mark and Caroline were the most amazing guides and shared such wonderful stories and suggestions for CHS. We loved asking them questions and chatting with them as well as the other passengers. This is a must do when visiting Charleston!

Bryn, Milwaukee, WI
November 2021

Highly recommend! Great value! Need to be comfortable walking around a boat (ducking, grabbing ropes). I plan to do this again next visit to Charleston.

Yona, Charlotte, NC
November 2021

This was our 35th wedding anniversary sunset sail and it was truly wonderful. There is nothing I would change about it

Carey
November 2021

Wow! One of the best Airbnb experiences I’ve been on. Mark and Caroline are amazing hosts and do a wonderful job of telling the story of Charleston on the water. It was my first time sailing and they made me feel safe and comfortable. They provided blankets when the wind picked up, a few complimentary drinks and even some high-quality photos all free of charge! 10/10 would recommend.

Aarick, Syracuse, NY
November 2021

Mark and Caroline were truly amazing hosts. We were blown away by their hospitality and professionalism. An absolute MUST DO Charleston experience!

Mark
November 2021

We had so much fun! If you’re in Charleston this is a must.

Kali, Fort Polk North, LA
November 2021

Mark and Adam take phenomenal care of you while aboard the Alliance. Mark is a superb captain with all the best storytelling with a dash of humor baked in. Adam makes sure you are comfortable and warm the entire time. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. The dolphins showed up as promised too!

Lily, East Providence, RI
November 2021

Absolutely loved our time!!! It was full of beautiful sights and associated history. Absolutely recommend

Brittley, Lake Angelus, MI
November 2021

Great experience. Perfectly planned to get the most out of the 3 hour sailing including being at the right place for pictures at sunset along with amazing views and learning the history of Charleston.

David, Athens, AL
November 2021

Mark and Caroline were wonderful guides and captains and hosts! They were incredibly knowledgeable about Charleston, the harbor, and sailing! They were gracious and helpful on their boat, sharing hilarious stories, and keeping our conversations going for all three hours of the cruise around the harbor at sunset! Highly recommend this experience!

Jared, Hampton Bays, NY
November 2021

My fiancé and I had the absolute best time! All of the five star reviews we read beforehand definitely rang true. The other couple on board was wonderful and could not have been better sailing companions. Mark and Caroline went SO above and beyond to make sure we were all comfortable and they really maximized our time on the water. It was such a perfect way to kick off our weekend in Charleston. We will definitely be not only recommending this to all our friends, but also will make sure to do this again next time we are in Charleston!

Ellie, New York, United States
November 2021

Had an amazing experience with these two! Both photographers and happy to take very cool pictures around the boat.

Ashley, Germantown, TN
November 2021

What a wonderful experience! The views from the boat were incredible. Mark told us lots of history and fun stories about the area. They had plenty of blankets to keep us warm, and the sunset view was spectacular! I felt incredible safe in their care and appreciated I could

just sit back and watch the world go by. I would tell anyone this is a must do in Charleston. r

Layla, Tampa, FL
November 2021

Sailing with Mark and Caroline was wonderful! Mark has so much knowledge of the Charleston area and his stories were terrific. The trip was relaxing and informative at the same time, and I met some great people. It was so much more fun and personal than the larger boat tours I’ve been on in the area, and the sunset in the harbor was absolutely amazing!

Madeline, East Hampton, NY
November 2021

Mark and Caroline were wonderful hosts and the sunset cruise was perfect! I would gladly book with Mark again!

Heather, Santa Fe, NM
November 2021

Mark and Chris were great hosts! The experience was very relaxing. It was a beautiful way to see the harbor.

Jennifer
November 2021

Mark and Chris were incredible host. Our experience was the perfect combination of learning Charleston history while enjoying the beautiful scenery. Thanks for making our last evening the most memorable.

Maddie, Austin, TX
November 2021

We highly recommend this memorable sailboat excursion for everyone visiting the Charleston area. Mark was very welcoming and shared local history and facts in a fun way. Caroline was kind & helpful as well. We always felt safe and the sunset views were stunning from every direction! We even saw several dolphins on our trip! We will go again. read less

Eva, Pinckney, MI
November 2021

Great experience, wonderful sunset. I would do it again.

Sharon, Van Buren, OH
November 2021

Mark and Caroline were lovely. They were fun knowledgeable and attentive to their guests. The sailing experience was relaxing and beautiful just what we needed to wind down a great weekend in Charleston.

Candice, Buffalo, NY
November 2021

This is a must-do when visiting Charleston. Mark’s storytelling and Charleston history created a stellar experience and they’re genuinely good people. Good communication, beautiful views of Charleston and they made us feel like home supplying blankets, pillows and hard warmers. They were so attentive to their guests. 🌅 Best sunset sailing experience ever.

Amanda, Cincinnati, OH
November 2021

We so enjoyed this experience. Although it was windy and many of the group’s first time on a sailboat, we were easily at ease and comfortable with Mark and Caroline. It was perfect! Highly recommend going sailing with Mark! Mark was also super responsive to my questions, which was much appreciated.

Chandler, Columbus, OH
November 2021

An excellent outing you won’t want to miss.

Jake, New Haven, CT
October 2021

Amazing experience

Leslie
October 2021

Best place you can visit in Charleston 😉

Lobanov, Donetsk, Ukraine
October 2021

Book the experience already!

Bianca, Jacksonville, FL

This trip was absolutely stunning. My husband and I decided to book this for something special to do for the last night of our honeymoon in Charleston and it was our favorite thing we did! Mark and Caroline were so fun and wonderful hosts. They held great conversation and showed us the most beautiful spots to see the sunset and dolphins! It was so romantic and fun. I would most definitely book in the future!

Evan, Columbus, OH
September 2021

Mark and Caroline gave us a magical sail boat trip all around Charleston Harbor. It was so fun that I am trying to talk my husband into buying a boat. Those two went above and beyond to make this trip super fun and relaxing! It was absolutely gorgeous on the water. The boat was also legit! Well worth the money! Definitely the most fun thing we did all week on our vacation.

Mary And Ryan, Teutopolis, IL
September 2021

Perfect little boat and couple. Great way to relax!

Anneliese, Forsyth, GA
September 2021

I would suggest this experience to any of my friends!

Felipe, Atlanta, GA
September 2021

Great experience with super knowledgeable hosts!

Julee, Wescosville, PA
September 2021

Mark and Caroline were fantastic hosts! They were very friendly, hospitable, and had a lot of fun facts about Charleston. They also take great photos of your group!

Stacey, Fripp Island, SC
September 2021

We lucked out upon this cruise due to a scheduling error… and we couldn’t have been more pleased with how it turned out! Beautiful evening on the water with excellent hosts. Mark was an excellent storyteller of Charleston’s history and Caroline was a delightful conversationalist! We brought chartecuitres and wine with us and it was a perfect evening!

Sharmon, North Bend, WA
September 2021

Fantastic excursion! We were in town for a ladies get away and thought this would be fun since we had never been sailing. I highly recommend to everyone! They’re very experienced and can tell you all the historical information as you relax and enjoy the views.

Julie, Springfield, MO
September 2021

We had a wonderful time seeing Charleston from the water. The hosts are clearly passionate about sailing and made us feel very welcome. They shared lots of stories and made the experience really unique.

Alyson, Irving, TX
September 2021

It was perfect

Miles, Birmingham, AL
September 2021

Wow, what an experience. This was the best part of our trip to Charleston. Best kept secret, the trip around the harbor and the knowledge they had to share was truly magical. More than 5 stars.

Stephen, Conway, AR
September 2021

Beautiful sunset sailing experience. Small group. We enjoyed this experience immensely, I highly recommend sailing, it’s quieter and relaxing.

Kimberly, Winter Springs, FL
September 2021

This trip was amazing, this was my girlfriend and I’s first sailing experience. It was great. I would highly recommend this experience to anyone. This was the absolute best. Mark and Caroline are amazing, so full of knowledge, and the perfect amount of friendly read less

September 2021

This experience a MUST do when visiting Charleston! We had the best time with Mark and Caroline. They were knowledgeable, hospitable, friendly, and well traveled. The boat was beautiful and the scenic views were top notch. We felt safe, relaxed, and at peace sailing the harbor. It truly was one of our best vacation experiences!

Jennifer, Dearborn, MI
September 2021

I would highly recommend this experience. Mark and Caroline were amazing hosts- their hospitality was top notch. They were accommodating and had every detail thought out. The boat ride was amazing and filled with lots of information about Charleston. They were very personable and kept conversation going the entire ride. Caroline even took pictures of each couple and edited them and sent them out within a short time of the cruise being over. I am impressed, and will definitely be doing this again on our next trip to Charleston. Thanks Mark and Caroline!

Jessica, Baltimore, MD
September 2021

Wonderful experience! Mark and Caroline were incredible hosts and were very knowledgeable about all things Charleston. Beautiful views the entire trip. Highly recommend!

Joanna, Greenville, SC
September 2021

Fabulous experience with superior hosts that were warm and super friendly, sharing great stories and pointing out highlights for photos and just water gazing/relaxing. We saw baby dolphins, heard some echos under the bridge, and just enjoyed ourselves. Checked off another bucket list item with gusto. This is a winner!

Analia, New York, NY
September 2021

Best air bnb experience I have had.

Clint, Cedar Rapids, IA
September 2021

Wonderful experience! Mark and Caroline were wonderful hosts! The sunset sail was beyond our expectations! With just 7 people on board, it made the experience more intimate and gave us all a chance to talk about the sites and get to know each other a little. Thanks so much Mark and Caroline! We would see ourselves doing this again and will recommend your sail to family and friends!

Ellen, Blacksburg, VA
September 2021

By far our favorite part of our honeymoon!!!! Mark was absolutely amazing! If you’re thinking about booking do it NOW.

Taylor, Moon, PA
September 2021

Nice sunset sail!

Astri, Star Valley Ranch, WY
September 2021

Beautiful sunset sail around the harbor. Just a magical experience. Will go everytime I am in Charleston.

Brian
September 2021

My group had so much fun on this trip! It was an awesome experience!

Marissa
September 2021

Great experience! Mark and Caroline are pros with much experience on the water. Felt very safe and comfortable the whole time. They also know a good deal about Charleston and are filled with fun facts throughout the trip. Would recommend to all!

Justin, Babylon, NY
September 2021

This experience is a must! Mark and his wife are amazing hosts! They were so nice and fun to talk to. They also took beautiful photos of the experience and shared them right away for memories that… read more

Brooke, Atlanta, GA
September 2021

This cruise was a highlight of our trip! Mark and Caroline create an environment on their lovely boat of an interesting and lovely dinner party! We enjoyed learning about Charleston while their excellence at sailing made the cruise seamless and left us to bask in the sunset.

Shawna, Knoxville, TN
September 2021

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip! great conversation, beautiful views. well worth it! I will definitely recommend!!!

Kayla, Garner, NC

September 2021

The experience was great! The location is very beautiful. Mark and Caroline are extremely professional, very experienced in sail boating and they go above and beyond for guests to enjoy the experience. Highly recommended. 

Ruben, Miami, FL

Joined in 2016

September 2021

If you’re looking for a way to spend an evening in Charleston, this is it. Mark and Caroline were amazing hosts. The ride was so relaxing and gorgeous. Mark was knowledgeable and informative. Caroline was so sweet, she posed us to make sure we got the best pictures. I can’t imagine a better way to end our vacation in Charleston.

Sierra, Silver Spring, MD

August 2021

An awesome evening on the harbour- highly recommended, we loved it!

Christopher, Maidenhead, United Kingdom

August 2021

This is an AMAZING experience! Mark and Caroline were wonderfully calm and welcoming hosts. We sailed for about 3.5 hours touring the waters around Charleston. We even got to drive the boat! I would HIGHLY recommend this experience for a vacation activity, special occasion or evening out of the house. We hope to join Mark and Caroline again! 

Bryna, Knoxville, TN

August 2021

Mark and Caroline were very warm and welcoming hosts! I enjoyed learning new things about the city paired with the beautiful scenery. Caroline even took photos of me during the sail that I can cherish. 10/10 highly recommend. 

Camryn, Smyrna, GA

Joined in 2017

August 2021

My family booked a sunset sail with Mark to celebrate my parent’s 45th wedding anniversary. Mark communicated clearly prior to the experience and was kind enough to send photos taken during the sail to us following the tour. Mark and Caroline were kind and accommodating and we enjoyed our time very much. 

Raissa, Kansas City, MO

August 2021

This was the highlight of my stay in Charleston. This experience gives you a viewpoint of Charleston that you otherwise would not see. The intimacy of the experience also made it well worth every penny, you have so much space to roam around the sailboat. The hosts were also very welcoming in terms of respecting your wishes in kind of excluding yourself from the group. My boyfriend and I hung out at the bow of the ship. It was one of the most relaxing and beautiful experiences. We got to pass by the infamous Battery, we also got to pass by two container ships, and the Arthur Ravenal Jr. bridge. They also offered soft drinks and everything. I wish I could have stayed longer. This is definitely a MUST, regardless if it’s your first time or tenth time visiting Charleston. (Note: Wearing shorts is a better option if you want to go walking around the sailboat) 

Anna, Cary, NC

August 2021

Me and my girlfriend loved this experience!! Mark and Caroline were great hosts and made us feel at home on the sail boat. The experience was special and highly highly recommend!

August 2021

Mark and Paula were great conversationalists and the sunset was beautiful and the trip was magnificent!

Stephanie, Durham, NC

August 2021

Sailing with Mark and Caroline was the highlight of our Charleston trip! Everything was lovely! Tip: give yourself some extra time to find the dock and slip where their boat is. We’ve already…

Elizabeth, Fairfax Station, VA

August 2021

Wow! Just wow! We had a wonderful time sailing with Mark and Caroline! Our family enjoyed the historic and present day stories and learned so much about the harbor. Mark is super friendly and made the trip feel very safe and comfortable. I honestly felt more like a local after this sailboat experience because Mark and Caroline shared so much about the harbor, downtown Charleston, nearby islands, and beaches. The experience felt like we were sailing with friends and Mark makes you feel right at home on his sailboat. 

Anthony, Charlotte, NC

August 2021

Mark (and Caroline) are AWESOME! 12/10 experience, this absolutely deserves a spot in your Charleston itinerary. The directions were clear and the welcome was superb! From there it is 3 of the most pleasant and relaxing hours on the water, soaking in the sunset (and the dolphin sightings). Would absolutely do again, and recommend to anyone looking for an evening activity in Charleston! 

Susie, Chattanooga, TN

August 2021

We had such an amazing time! Mark and Caroline were so knowledgeable, warm, and welcoming. Caroline, a noted photographer, even took photos of us to give us as mementos! It was the perfect, most relaxing way to spend the evening. We wholeheartedly recommend sailing with Mark and Caroline, and look forward to returning soon! 

Colin, Austin, TX

August 2021

This sailing trip was epic and truly the best way to start our trip! ⛵️🤍

Sarah, Bejuco, Costa Rica

August 2021

I booked a charter with Mark and Caroline to help celebrate my husbands 40th birthday. They could not have been more welcoming and kind. The entire trip was filled with fantastic conversation, incredible sites and some of the most interesting history of the city not normally discussed on the “normal” tours. We completely fell in love with sailing and can not wait to go again! We look forgot booking a charter with family and friends in the near future! 

Natasha

August 2021

Mark and Caroline were incredibly gracious hosts – and incredibly interesting to chat with! I was nervous about spending 3 hours on a boat but between the stories and conversations the hours flew by, not to mention the amazing scenery and experience. I’m looking forward to sending my friends their way and coming back for our next visit on the Alliance. 

Rachel, New York, NY

Excellent

Abbie, Decatur, GA

August 2021

Our harbor cruise aboard the Alliance was the highlight of our visit to Charleston. The absence of a sunset due to Mother Nature did not dampen our spirits as Mark and Caroline shared their knowledge and love of sailing, Charleston, and their life experiences while navigating their guests around Charleston’s historic waterfront. Of all our wonderful experiences during our time in the Holy City, the Alliance harbor cruise is the only “must do again” on our return visit. 

Lori, Roanoke, VA

July 2021

An amazing experience!

Kylie, Lexington, SC

July 2021

This event is worth every penny. The sunset was gorgeous! The boat ride is so relaxing and enjoyable.

Haley

July 2021

10 stars!!! Mark and Caroline are amazing! So nice knowledgeable! It was absolutely beautiful. Highly recommend!!

Natalie, Charlotte, NC

July 2021

A wonderful time on the Alliance! Capt Mark and Caroline were wonderful with sharing suggestions prior to sail and during the experience. Very much enjoyed the small group setting which made it feel like our own special ladies sail! 

Pam, Pennsylvania, United States

July 2021

If you find yourself in Charleston, you HAVE to book this experience! Our hosts were an absolute blast and the evening we spent on the water was nothing short of amazing!

Hailey

July 2021

Mark was a fantastic host! He was very knowledgeable about sailing and the Charleston area. He was very informative and friendly. They even took stunning photos of us on the sail and sent them to us the next day. We were so glad we chose to sail with Mark!

May 2021

Fantastic experience! A beautiful evening on the water with a fabulous host. Mark has great local history mixed with super fun sailing experiences from all over. It blowing a pretty good 12-20 knots but always felt safe. A great tour on Charleston Bay and all around fun experience. Recommend a pre or post cocktail and appetizer at The Fish House to end the evening too!

Joan, Mill Valley, CA
May 2021

My girlfriend and I book the experience on weekend trip to Charleston. Excellent experience and highly recommend. Not only did we learn about Charleston, we also got to learn a bit about sailing. Mark was a fantastic host. We’ll be booking again.

Michael
May 2021

Great experience, definitely a must-do if you come to the area.

Mikaela, Atlanta, GA
May 2021

Outstanding adventure! Mark was an excellent Captain!

Zeke
May 2021

Better than we could have expected! What a great team – Mark is a great storyteller and Carolyn handled the sails and rigging, as well as taking beautiful photos. We saw dolphins. Would definitely recommend it!

Nami, Charlotte, NC
May 2021

Wow! Our sail with Mark and his lovely wife Caroline was beyond expectations in every way! Both Mark and Caroline were exceptional hosts and storytellers, and we enjoyed every single moment aboard as we took in the views and learned more about Charleston’s history. We were lucky to spot several dolphins, and enjoyed a spectacular sunset. This was such a highlight of our honeymoon and was made all the more perfect by Mark and Caroline’s genuine hospitality and warmth. You will NOT regret booking this special sail for a moment!!

Margaret
May 2021

I can not say enough great things about Mark and his wife Caroline. They hospitality was unmatched and they were a joy to be around. Alliance was a great boat to be on. If you plan on going out with…

May 2021

Mark & Caroline were wonderful, from beginning to end they kept you entertained and provided much hospitality and their boat. We absolutely loved our time with them and would recommend this to anyone!

Jaclyn, Kansas City, MO
May 2021

Really seem to be involved with his experience and wanted everyone to have a good time. Would recommend to friends and family.

William, Waynesville, NC
May 2021

This was an excellent trip. Mark is full of fun facts about the harbor and really goes out of his way to make sure you get the best experience while you’re out there. We saw a pod of dolphins as soon as we left the slip and the trip only got better from there. If you’re on the fence about this and another tour, definitely take this one.

Eric
May 2021

Highly recommend joining Mark and his wife on the Charleston harbor. We had an amazing time relaxing and soaking in the scenery with lots of laughs. Mark was an amazing captain with plenty of fun stories and facts about the surrounding area, and made sure we were all comfortable and knew what to expect (first time sailing). Can’t recommend this enough! Hands down our favorite part of our vacay in Charleston!

Alyssa, Atlanta, GA
May 2021

Mark made us feel at home, like it was our sailboat and he was the personal captain and guide. He had great stories, shared history and never once felt forced or corny. We made new friends, enjoyed the views and didn’t want it to end! Mark went above and beyond, the boat is beautiful, and the experience was unforgettable!

Staci, Evansville, WI
May 2021

A great experience!

Hannah, Levittown, NY
May 2021

Mark was a great host! He was happy to share his knowledge of the history of Charleston with us. We highly recommend his tour!

Angie & André, Lafayette, LA
May 2021

Great service,. The attention was spectacular. We saw dolphins, tour was very informative and the sunset was amazing.

Zaida, Pembroke Pines, FL
May 2021

A wonderful experience, with great hosts that make you feel like you’ve been friends for years. We enjoyed taking the helm for awhile and even with no prior experience, they give you the confidence and necessary instruction to be successful. You can be as involved or not as you wish. This is a memorable adventure not to be missed, in a stunning location with great hosts.

Lara, Los Alamitos, CA
May 2021

Perfect sunset cruise with excellent hosts !

Kathryn, Wilmette, IL
May 2021

What a spectacular experience! A lifetime experience!

Maja
May 2021

Great sailing adventure, comfortable and beautiful boat… and excellent conversation. Perfect evening

Lisa, Bend, ORShelley May 30, 2020

Best Time EVER! Mark and his co-captain made our sunset cruise with our 4 daughters the highlight of the entire weekend in Charleston! Extremely skilled and knowledgeable, we were at complete ease and they made sure we felt welcomed and comfortable. I can’t wait to book this trip again! Mark was so interesting to talk to and by the time we left, he felt like an old friend. After a little rainstorm we boarded and were able to see several rainbows throughout the evening as well as lots of dolphin sightings!! Do yourself a favor and book this sunset cruise! You won’t be disappointed!! Best night ever!!Private Feedback: Mark, I wanted to personally thank you for making Madison’s birthday evening so special! I can’t even begin to express how grateful I am. I so enjoyed visiting with you and hearing your personal stories. Thank you for making us feel so welcome. This was truly the best part of our entire weekend!! We were so grateful we hadn’t been out on King St. having dinner when all the rioting began but instead had been safe and sound enjoying one of the most serene and peaceful evenings in a long time. Praying for healing over Charleston and all the businesses that were vandalized this weekend. Thank you again!!

Channing May 30, 2020

A great experience that I will remember for years to come! An outstanding crew that made us feel so welcomed, it was as if we were sailing with long time friends. The sunset view was amazing and unforgettable. I would highly recommend this experience to anyone in the area! Thanks for a great time! Hopefully we can do it again one day.

Joe March 14, 2020

We met on the dock with our 2 kids age 8 and 9 with a bottle of wine and got aboard. We sailed for a few hours around the harbor and watched the sun set. My kids loved it, mark and his crew were great, they told us about the landmarks we saw and about sailing. I really enjoyed learning about sailing, and it was very relaxing. Totally worth the money and a great way to end your day. We saw lot of dolphins and other ships. I would suggest spending the afternoon at the aircraft carrier museum at patriots point then eating and then hitting the dock to do this experience, because it is all right there together.

Cynthia February 23, 2020

Really great evening with awesome folks. Mark’s experience with sailing and his knowledge as a local totally made the experience! Plus, you know, enjoying the sights was good too lol. Thanks for a great evening!

Taylor February 15, 2020

This is quite an adventure – perfect if you want to stand at the bow of a sailboat, feel the ocean spray on your face and really experience what it’s like to truly sail. Mark is an expert – he races the Alliance nearly every weekend and handled the boat like a professional. It was windy and chilly when we went out, mid-February, but it was worth the numb fingers to experience sunset and the beautiful coast of Charleston. Thanks for the conch lessons and the tummy warming rum!!! We had a blast!

NaVell February 8, 2020

When visiting Charleston, a sunset sail is a must! Initially, we were concerned as the weather turned much colder than we anticipated, but Mark and his wife assured us they’d have us covered, and they did! Comforting us with sweaters, blankets, and best of all, lots of laughter, we somehow forgot about the cold and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. It was a treat to share stories with his wife and friends who joined us on the ride. We highly recommend this excursion if you want to immediately feel like you are amongst friends who you’ve known for a very long time. – Yasmin & NaVell

Gail November 30, 2019

Beautiful Sunset!! We enjoyed the sail around the harbor. Highly recommend.  We had a great time on your boat. Lisa sounding the conch shell really made for a great story. She really enjoyed her birthday cruise. Thank you again for your great service.

Lindsay November 29, 2019

This was my favorite thing to do in Charleston. Mark let my husband and I go up front and relax with pillows and our bottle of wine. The water was extremely calm for us to be able to do this. It was so peaceful up front and just a perfect date night. The sunset was beautiful. Thank you all!

James November 29, 2019

A wonderful evening with a sincerely interesting Captain. Thank you for a wonderful experience. I hope we can get together in the future.

Robert November 10, 2019

Sailing Charleston Harbor at sunset is pretty much a must when visiting. The sights and the colors are breath taking. Mark is a world class host, and is filled with knowledge, experience, and personal sailing stories. My wife and I did this experience for our one year wedding anniversary, and could not have been more thrilled.

Shatae November 4, 2019

This was a magical experience! Mark and his wife were incredibly welcoming, the boat is so nice, they were great host with beverages and blankets for comfort, and the experience being on the water was calming and beautiful.Private Feedback: Thank you for taking me – especially considering that I was the only one to book for that slot and you had other plans. I really appreciated it and had a great time!

Allyson November 3, 2019

If you had to pick one thing to do during your time in Charleston, this is it! Mark was a great Captain and the views were breathtaking! He was a kind host and wanted to make sure you were happy & comfortable throughout the evening. I got amazing pictures, enjoyed the time on the water with my husband and enjoyed the company of everyone on the boat! We got to head a little about the history of Charleston and what it is like today. They had good stories and explained the aspects of sailing in a thoughtful way. Would 100% do this again and recommend to anyone!

Rich November 1, 2019

Great experience! Mark and his crew were knowledgeable, skillful and entertaining. We had an unforgettable experience!

Michal November 1, 2019

What an amazing experience! Mark and his crew took such good care of us and created a really memorable sail. The weather was perfect and the sunset over the harbor just lovely. Thank you thank you thank you!! What an amazing time 😊

Christy October 4, 2019

They really made us feel welcome and that this was a special private experience. They were willing to talk as much as we wanted, or as little as we wanted. They were a wealth of information. My friends and I were talking about this experience for the rest of the trip! I would gladly do this again!

Carissa September 30, 2019

Great trip! Fun experience and Mark was very friendly and accommodating!

Petey September 29, 2019

My husband, Ron and I had an awesome and memorable experience. Even though Ron has previous sailing experience we don’t have a sailboat so he always is keen to go out on the water when we’re on vacation. Mark quickly sensed his enthusiasm for sailing and let him handle the boat at different times which he loved! Mark’s crew was great fun and the story-telling of past adventures was fascinating! We ended up as the only couple to go out on his boat that day and it was absolutely one of our highlights in Charleston! Such fun! Thank you so much for all your hospitality!!! We look forward to coming back!

Shanell September 22, 2019

Excellent evening with Mark and Adam. We met at the mount pleasant harbor, and we were on the water within moments. Mark and Adam provided a plethora of knowledge regarding sailing, including explaining terminology, sharing anecdotes, and giving opportunities for hands on experience. Sailing with Mark and Adam is exactly what you want, whether that be relaxing on the bow of the boat, sitting at the rear, or even behind the wheel. The beautiful sunset made this a truly unforgettable experience. More than just a one time connection, Mark and Adam offered insights and tips for the rest of our Charleston vacation as well. 10/10!  Thanks again Mark! Appreciate you also sending the photos. Josh can’t stop raving about how awesome it was to drive the boat! Please let Adam know that his BBQ suggestions were delicious.

Libby September 14, 2019

Mark and Adam were top notch hosts! This sail was superior to any other Charleston experience we had! We enjoyed an amazing sunset and the rise of the full moon and stars over the Charleston Harbor. They went out of their way to engage us in the act of sailing, even giving us the opportunity to take over at the helm. Super hospitable guys, easy to converse with and a wealth of information about sailing and the area. Highly recommend this experience to everyone! Thanks Mark to you and Adam for an absolutely breathtaking experience! It was the favorite part of our trip and we will certainly be in touch as we begin investigating the possibility of maybe a sailboat of our own! Thank you so much for your willingness to share such valuable information.

Valerie August 31, 2019

Mark and Adam were amazing! We had the most fantastic experience! It was definitely a noteworthy and memorable time! Thanks, Mark and Adam! Loved it!!!

Chris August 24, 2019

We loved our sailing experience with Mark and Adam. They both were such lovely and caring people. I loved listening to their experiences and could’ve heard more. They treated us with the utmost respect and hospitality. They genuinely cared about who we are. The adventure of actually sailing in the bay of Charleston at sunset was amazing! We loved our time with you and getting to know you a little. It is so apparent that you love what you do, and that enthusiasm is catching. We had the best time sailing and would not have gotten to do that without your expertise. I cannot emphasize enough how much I loved your stories. They enriched our Charleston experience. You have a beautiful boat. No wonder you love it so much. I looked up Adam’s book that you so modestly mentioned. I was amazed at the accomplishment. I have it in my shopping cart and intend to read about this not well known event in Civil Rights history. In the short time with the two of you our lives were greatly enhanced. We hope that you are not so adversely affected by Hurricane Dorian, but we also know that you have weathered storms before and came out of it okay. Best wishes for you both, Chris and Paula.

Abi August 24, 2019

This experience was completely worth it! Mark was very accommodating, and we had so much fun seeing the city from the water. Thank you so much for your hospitality and how accommodating you were! We had fun!

Stephanie August 10, 2019

The experience was amazing!!!! GORGEOUS!!! They were so knowledgeable, fun, sweet and easy-going. I got sea-sick half way through and they were so catering, helpful, and supportive!!! Im definitely doing this again!!! Except with motion/nausea meds next time LOL. Thanks for a fantastic time!!!!

Crysti August 10, 2019

Absolutely the Best evening ever!!!I have definitely been spreading the word about this wonderful captain & his sailboat ⛵️.I will be booking another beautiful sail .

Masha August 2, 2019

The day of the experience started with rain and more to come throughout the day. Mark stayed in touch communicating as the decision was being made on whether to cancel or go on with the trip. Mark’s knowledge, experience and intuition suggested to go on with the excursion and he made us feel more confident about the weather conditions. We decided to take a chance, boy, were we glad that we did! The evening turned out spectacular! Mark and his crew made us feel welcome, explained ins and outs of the sailing aboard and ensured of our comfort. All our reservations quickly melted away. Everyone in our group enjoyed the trip immensely and felt that we did so at our own pace only being guided as needed and entertained as much as we wanted to be. We quickly got used to moving around the boat and loved the sense of adventure. We sailed around the peninsula, loved going under the magnificent bridge twice and even got to see the dolphins. Not even hoping to see the sun we were graced with the most magnificent sunset and ended the trip hanging out in the front of the boat enjoying the serenity of this magical evening. Thank you for this wonderful memory that we will cherish forever! ~ Masha and the fam

Humberto July 30, 2019

Hahaha the Alliance crew was amazing what an experience. Im thankful mark invited me to the races!! It was amazing and the views the adrenaline what a great time!  Tarah and Lainy gave me the cup hahaha what a memorable story in my travels !! Thank you so much i believe everything happens for a reason i will definitely be back to charleston and we can link up! Tell Lainey i said hello 😁 and thanks for the ride to the yacht club!!

Jennifer July 27, 2019

What an amazing experience. This is real sailing, not pull up the sails and keep the motor on sailing. This is real sailing where the boat dips and and the sails are tight with the fullness of the wind. This is a sailing adventure, not your average wine and cheese cruise, but a “hold on we are turning” authentic sailing experience that makes you feel alive. I have been on many sunset sailing trips over the years and this one was the best. It was thrilling. I loved watching the captain and his mate work together and listening to them artfully communicate about sails and navigation. You can tell they love to sail. It was someone’s birthday and they brought out a bottle of rum for a toast. How cool. Hands down the best thing I have ever done in Charleston. Wow- ya’ll are really amazing. Thanks for a great trip.

Olena July 27, 2019

I highly recommend this tour. Mark and Adam made sure everyone on the boat is safe and having the time of their life. They showed us around the boat and explained how everything works. It was my Bday trip and they made me feel like royalty, they even sang Happy Bday to me. I will most definitely book with them again next time I’m in Charleston.

Christina July 22, 2019

Our experience with Mark, Caroline and their lovely sailboat was one my daughter and I will remember forever. Mark and Caroline are very skilled sailors. They operate the boat with ease all while chatting both about sailing and the local area. We learned a lot but also had time to sit back, relax and watch the sunset. A wonderful evening.

Tammy July 21, 2019

Wow! The Sunset Sailing Tour was amazing💙 Mark and Carolyn were awesome! It was our 40th Wedding Anniversary that day and we ended up being the only ones on the Sailboat with them. A private Tour!!! We could not have had 2 more perfect hosts! Captain Mark is so knowledgeable about sailing, and he was a Sailor in the Navy! So cool, and he had many interesting stories. He knew the waters and surroundings like he and the water were one 🙂 His sweet wife Carolyn of many years was his Admiral and boy was she a hard worker!!! So strong and knew what Mark was going to say before he said it!! I knew the feeling 🙂 It was a wonderful, unique experience and I certainly would do it again! Only next time I will ride the bow the whole time!!! Thanks for the fun 🙂

Abraham July 20, 2019

As echoed by previous reviews…this will be the highlight of your trip to Charleston. Mark and Caroline made our family feel at home. Our kids had a blast blowing the Conch. Looking forward to next time.

Kristeen July 6, 201

The experience was wonderful! Mark and Caroline were very friendly and made us feel like we were old friends. The sailing was great and the evening was unforgettable. I would highly recommend this excursion.

Rich July 6, 2019

We have been in the Charleston area since 2005 but hadn’t seen how beautiful it really is until the sunset sail. Mark was amazing. Within minutes we felt like we were going out with friends rather than being customers. He shared some local history, a few lighthearted stories and made everyone feel welcome. The sunset was perfect and we enjoyed every moment of the sail. We would highly reccomend to both tourist and locals looking for a relaxing evening and the best view of Charleston.

Charles July 6, 2019

I really enjoyed this experiance. I would do this again. I enjoyed the art of sailing and the tour information given by Mark. I felt as if i was sailing with a group of old friends. I would recommendthis experiance to anyone. Thank you for the enjoyable experiance. You can expect a repeat occurence.

Caitlin July 2, 2019

My time on the Alliance with Mark and Caroline was such a wonderful way to spend the last night of my trip in Charleston. They were both so welcoming and made me feel comfortable and at home on their boat. It was so nice getting to know them and hear their stories. The sunset was absolutely beautiful and we even spotted some dolphins 🙂 would highly recommend doing this if you’re visiting Charleston. Thank you again for a wonderful time! Such a fun experience.

JackieJune 30, 2019

Fun!!!!  Mark, really enjoyed meeting you and Adam! Thanks so much! Jackie and Sam

Tammy June 29, 2019

We had a well guided tour around the Charleston Harbor. Thanks for the best cruise in the world.

Tamara June 29, 2019

We had such an amazing time sailing around Charleston harbor! Mark and Adam made the experience so enjoyable. They were both very personable and kept us entertained over the 3 hours (including us all trying to blow the conch under the Ravenel bridge and being pretty terrible at it!). The best part was that the sail is capped at 6 people so it felt really personable, almost like we rented the boat just for ourselves. That made the experience even more memorable and special. Thanks again for the wonderful time Mark!Private  Thanks again for the great sail! Definitely the highlight of our trip 🙂 Take care!

Charlie June 29, 2019

Had a wonderful time sailing in Charleston with Mark. He’s a real expert in his craft and made us feel very welcome from the start. We cruised the harbor area, got to see some cool sights and a great sunset. Wouldn’t hesitate to do it again!

MatthewJune 18, 2019

Great experience! Highly recommended. Would definitely do this again if we go back to Charleston. Thanks Mark! We had such a great time!

Lindsay June 18, 2019

Marc was fantastic! Felt like we were going out on a friends boat and not a public charter. Highly recommend! Thanks again Marc! We had a blast. Best of luck to you!

Jammie June 16, 2019

The 3 hour sailing tour of the Charleston Harbor was a magnificent way to celebrate our 18th wedding anniversary. The expertise, knowledge and easy going nature of Mark, the skipper, and Adam, the first mate, made the adventure all the more enjoyable. I would’ve been worried if their boat was named the Minnow, but we made it back ok. The views of the harbor were spectacular, including the Battery, 5 Steeples, bird sanctuary, dolphins, a pass under the giant suspension bridge, and closeup of the Yorktown. We even got a chance to steer the 38 foot vessel as the sun set over the city, and the full moon rose over the eastern bay.

Quinn June 8, 2019

There are not enough stars!! This went way beyond a 5 star experience. Not only did we get to see so much of the harbor, but we got to participate and assist with as much of the sailing as we wanted. There is nothing to compare with the wind blowing through your hair, and the smell of the sea. I came on this trip alone, but left feeling as though Mark and his crew were good friends. I even got to blow the conch shell! (Lord of the Flies, anyone?!) This was an experience I will not only never forget, but plan to do on a more frequent basis back home. Thank you Mark, Adam and Tarah for the experience of a lifetime!

GerryJune 8, 2019

UPGRADE – is the offering Mark and his crew provide with your sailing experience. Genuine kindness, FUN, history lessons and Don’t forget to Ask him for a chance to sail. The conch shell blowing for effect under the bridge – Bonus. The wind in your hair on a sailboat with picturesque views of Charleston – Don’t miss this opportunity ! Love your LOGO!

Ameera June 8, 2019

Mark was absolutely incredible! He & his crew were friendly, extremely knowledgeable, & genuinely great people. I would recommend this experience (with Mark specifically) to anyone & everyone! Amazing!!  Mark- you were amazing! Thank you so much for being so sweet. We had a great time & would love to sail with you again next time we’re in Charleston

Jenn June 8, 2019

What an experience! Highly recommend Mark and his crew. They’re very friendly and knowledge about everything Charleston. From sailing to eating, places to shop, absolutely musts. Such an incredible experience.

Kelsey May 30, 2019

Such a wonderful experience! I would recommend if you are from out of town or live in Charleston. Mark was so welcoming and shared great facts Charleston and stories with us! We felt comfortable the second we stepped on the beautiful boat. You really cant beat the beautiful views of Charleston from the water.

Wanda May 30, 2019

I was a little nervous about doing this sunset sail since it was my first ever at age 59 and solo! As soon as I borded I felt at ease, safe and relaxed. I was in Charleston for 5 nights and this was my favorite!!! It felt magical with all the sea birds flying around us and Mark and his crew made everyone feel like we were part of the experience by letting us take the wheel for a bit. We were allowed to sit on top near the sail and that was a spectacular view with the ocean breeze blowing. It was truly one of the best days of my life! The sunset was gorgeous!! I met some very nice people and this sunset sail ride will be one of the reasons I come back to Charleston!! Thank you Captain Mark and the rest of your crew!! You made this a beautiful day for me!! Wanda Thacker, Alpharetta Ga

Kathleen May 28, 2019

We visit Charleston at least once a year, and this was one of the best experiences we’ve had to date! Mark & Caroline made us feel so at home on their boat, experiencing the sunset on the water was priceless, and we left feeling like we had made some new friends! We will definitely book again on one of our future visits. Highly recommend! Thank you again for such a great experience Mark! Looking forward to meeting up with you guys again in the future! 🙂

Derek May 27, 2019

Mark and the crew made us feel at home! We had an amazing time getting to know their stories and enjoying the views and what it’s like to sail, this was my wife and my favorite part of our trip to Charleston and i highly recommend this as a finale to anyone’s trip! We had such a great time with y’all! Thanks for giving us a great and memorable experience

Hudson May 27, 2019

Highlight of our trip to Charleston! Mark was super friendly and incredibly knowledgeable and engaging as a guide. The sail through the harbor was equal parts fun, romantic, and unique. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting! Thanks for an excellent experience! Katy and I loved sailing with you and Adam. It was without a doubt the highlight of our trip to Charleston. I’ll shoot you a message to hear about your place on Sullivan’s island whenever we’re able to make it back. In the meantime, best wishes to you and Caroline and her mom, Ruth. Be sure and convey our appreciation for the beautiful tour we had at Boone Hall plantation. Cheers!

Matthew May 26, 2019

Definitely worth booking with Mark! Had a great time! Thanks!!

Candice May 26, 2019

It’s an awesome experience! Beautiful sunset!

Katelyn May 26, 2019

Mark was an excellent host and provided a unique and fun experience! He lets you participate and learn or sit back and relax. I fully recommend this experience! I loved every minute of it!

Autumn May 25, 2019

Mark and his crew were great to me and my guests. This is the first time sailing for all of us and Mark was able to show us how it worked. We were roam to sit anywhere and it was awesome! Catching the sunset was beautiful! Coming back to the harbor and seeing the cotton candy color sky against all the boats were amazingly beautiful! I highly highly recommend this adventure with Mark to everyone!

Beth May 13, 2019

This was an amazing experience. Mark, Caroline, and Adam were very professional in the operation of the sailboat. They were so friendly and relatable. They all have such interesting life stories! I would definitely recommend this experience.

Ginger May 13, 2019

We had a great time! My favorite part of our trip to Charleston!

Elena May 13, 2019

Amazing experience! Mark, Adam and Caroline were wonderful!

Zack May 11, 2019

Mark is Awesome, Caroline is great. They both help you to have just an awesome time!! Thanks Brother!

Soros May 9, 2019

What an amazing experience. Having lived in Charleston for an extended period of time I had thought I had seen all of Charleston. But being on the water in a spectacular boat, you can see really see all of Charleston. Mark was an amazing host who did everything to ensure we had an amazing experience. I have officially fallen in love with a sailing and I would definitely do this experience again.

Kristina May 8, 2019

This trip was off the charts wonderful. So many great memories made. My teen kids agreed that it was the most fun experience we have ever had while on a vacation! The boat is beautiful! We learned so much about the area and about sailing from Mark and Adam. These guys love what they do, and it is contagious. The views from the water at sunset are breathtaking. Honestly, we would go again in a heartbeat. From the bottom of my heart, thank you for this trip! We are still talking about the boat and looking at the beautiful pictures. You guys are amazing, and your love for the water is contagious. We walked away feeling so happy and amazed that we got to see and experience Charleston this way!! Thanks for sharing and blessings to you and yours! ~Kristina, Maya, and Sam.

Kelley May 5, 2019

Excellent sailing and beautiful views of the Charleston sunset and harbor; highly recommend it!

Valerie May 5, 2019

This was a wonderful, causal, sailing trip around the Charleston harbor. Was a highlight of our weekend and would highly recommend!

Carson April 28, 2019

This was such an amazing time! The sunset was beautiful and Mark was fun to talk to!

Steven April 21, 2019

What a great sail – On top of the experience of sailing the bay – time spent w/ Mark (and his crew that day Adam) was def time well spent. Really enjoyed ourselves. Thank you

Grace Ann April 19, 2019

The sailboat ride was incredible and definitely my favorite part about my trip to Charleston. Mark was extremely knowledgeable, a great sailor and made his boat so hospitable! 100% recommend!

Sarah April 19, 2019

Love of sailing translates in to a magical sunset trip! Mark and Carolina are excellent hosts. They share their love of sailing and Charleston in such a way that you feel like family. As film makers, we bonded with them as they are also professional photographers. This evening couldn’t have been more perfect. We felt safe and content in the welcome hands of Mark and Caroline.

Tanja March 19, 2019

Very unique experience, highly recommend!Private Feedback: Thanks so much for the sail! Rick and I enjoyed it so much and loved meeting you and Adam!

Tiffany March 17, 2019

I booked this Experience for my boyfriend and I and it was absolutely fantastic! Mark and his wife were great hosts and their passion for sailing and being out on the water carried through the whole experience. Mark is very knowledgeable about the area, very professional, and welcoming. The sunset was gorgeous and even though it was a little chilly out, he and his wife made sure we were comfortable. Nothing but the best recommendation for this experience! Kelly and I really appreciated how personable you and Caroline both were. You really opened up our perspective for being on the water by sail and piqued our interest to get out there more!

Nick March 2, 2019

Mark was absolutely fantastic. I recommend this experience for anyone who wants to see Charleston in a new light! This is a cannot miss venture. Without question, this is better than any other tour or experience in town! Thank you so much for your understanding and hospitality! We had a phenomenal time!! Best, Nick

Robert January 25, 2019

Wonderful trip around Charleston. Mark is a wonderful host. Liz and I really enjoyed out trip! I would recommend the trip to anyone!

Elizabeth January 25, 2019

Our evening sunset boat ride was exceptional! We saw dolphins right off the bat and continued to see them the entire ride. My boyfriend and I enjoyed our time relaxing on the bow most of the time but Mark and Adam give you the option to help out and learn if you are willing. They both were such a joy to talk to and learn about the area, sailing, and their own fun experiences. We had an absolute blast! We had a fabulous time. It got a little cold but it was our fault we didn’t dress accordingly and they provided jackets so it was perfect.

Dee January 5, 2019

WOW. We had an absolutely wonderful time on our harbor sailboat tour. Mark and Caroline were awesome hosts. This was our first time sailing and we enjoyed every minute. The weather was beautiful and we got to enjoy a spectacular sunset. Mark and Caroline were very knowledgeable about the history of the harbor and it was great to get to see the historical landmarks from a different perspective. We would highly recommend this experience to anyone looking for an amazing afternoon in Charleston. Everything was absolutely perfect!!!

Chad December 22, 2018

Awesome couple, Mark and his wife made you feel at home.

Claire November 19, 2018

My boyfriend and I had an awesome time seeing Charleston & the surrounding area from the water. Mark and his wife were lovely, so kind/relaxed, and were willing to share as much or as little knowledge. Highly recommend!

Valerie November 13, 2018

This was such a cool experience! I had never been sailing before, but Mark immediately put us at ease. He and his wife were knowledgeable hosts and conversationalists, and we would definitely join them for another sail. I highly recommend!

Jessica November 10, 2018

We had the best time sailing with Mark. It was definitely the highlight of our trip. I would highly recommend this experience to anyone. I can’t wait to do it again!

Michael October 29, 2018

Couldn’t have had a better experience with Mark & Adam. The weather was great, the boat was super comfortable and Mark/Adam were super knowledgeable about the history surrounding Charleston. Overall a very enjoyable time.

Jason October 22, 2018

No question this was absolutely the best thing we did in Charleston. Mark and his wife were excellent hosts, I almost felt like it was my sailboat. Mark gave us a grand tour of the harbor, we cruised by the aircraft carrier, under the Ravenel Bridge, past downtown Charleston and finished up by going past Fort Sumter right at sunset. The trip was highlighted by watching a mother dolphin and her baby play, beside the boat, at sunset. I highly recommend, you wont find a better deal, for the experience you get, in Charleston. Oh and Mark and his wife are high end photographers and they captured a picture of my girlfriend, that she is in love with. Hope to see you again. Thank you for great evening on the water.

Reed October 14, 2018

We were looking for something unique to do in Charleston on an Anniversary trip. Mark and the Alliance were beyond our expectations. We had a fantastic time. They were knowledgeable on the area, the history, and had a great sense of when to converse a little and when to let us enjoy the harbor sunset as a couple. Wonderful experience start to finish.

Carly October 12, 2018

My husband and I had a wonderful time sailing on the Alliance!!! The sunset was incredible! It was the high light of our trip to Charleston and we look forward to sailing with Mark again soon! Highly recommend!! ⛵️

Mayra October 12, 2018

Wow!!! We had the BEST time with Mark and Caroline! The Alliance is beautiful and the sailing was simply magical- my husband and I had the perfect afternoon. We will definitely be back!!!

Lyn September 30, 2018

Highly recommend. Mark and Caroline were gracious and knowledgeable hosts. We left the dock with cloudy skies and ended up seeing an incredibly beautiful sunset. The boat was comfortable and in beautiful condition. We met new friends and hope to go again.

Hillary September 30, 2018

It was a lovely way to spend the evening and to see Charleston from a different perspective.Private Feedback: Thanks for a fun evening!

Steve September 2, 2018

Mark was an excellent host from beginning to end. We had good communication about where to board and when, and the type of activity. He and his crew were meticulous ensuring our comfort and safety. The sailboat tour was an excellent way to get to know the Charleston environs passing silently by iconic sites. Bring some wine, sit back, and enjoy the ride. The day’s weather made things interesting in a good way. Thanks for taking us.

James September 2, 2018

This was an amazing experience. Mark and the crew are so welcoming and attentive. This was a highlight of our trip.

Mark September 1, 2018

This sailing excursion was such a highlight of our weekend in Charleston, that we’ll likely plan a future trip around another cruise. Mark and Caroline immediately seem like longtime friends. Their 38’ boat is pristine. The few hours on water allow us to see Charleston and surrounding areas in a new way, taking in historic markers and amazing sunset views. Not to be overlooked are the local recs they provided for restaurants and bars.

Ryan September 1, 2018

We had a wonderful experience with Mark and Caroline on a Saturday evening sunset cruise. The boat was comfortable and we enjoyed learning about history of what we were seeing. Would highly recommend this experience!

Jonathan September 1, 2018

Mark and Caroline made this a perfect evening for us. They offered a unique perspective on Charleston, and the views were amazing. We recommend this experience to anyone visiting! We couldn’t have asked for a better experience. Thank you!

Brandi September 1, 2018

Mark and Adam were super knowledgeable, fun, and personable. My friend and I really enjoyed the cruise around the Charleston harbor with them and a few other guests. They even let us steer the boat! Because we went on an afternoon tour on a hot day, they gave us the option of dropping anchor and swimming for a bit, which was refreshing. Water, other beverages, and snacks were provided. I would certainly do this again!

Sicong September 1, 2018

The trip was fun and mark was great. I had a great conversation with him. Recommended for everyone!

Cassi August 28, 2018

This was my first time in Charleston, and I can’t imagine a better way to kick off the weekend and see what the city has to offer than from the vantage point of the water! Mark and his wife were incredible hosts and it was as if we were sailing with old friends. We had a truly magical time and would highly recommend this to others! We had an incredible time!! Thank you for your hospitality!

Jane August 28, 2018

Mark provided an exceptional experience. He is a super nice guy, confident in sailing, and making his guests feel very comfortable and safe in his yacht. His pride in his yacht was exemplified by the highest level of regard in her condition – that is clean and in good order to ensure the seaworthiness of his boat. I very much enjoyed the wonderful atmosphere onboard and that he entrusted me to take the helm. I would certainly enjoy sailing with Mark again and highly recommend ‘Alliance Sailing Charter’ when visiting Charleston.

Jill August 28, 2018

We had the most magical evening on the water with Captain Mark! This experience was far and away the highlight of our time in Charleston. There is no better way to see Charleston than from the water and we felt lucky to do it on board Captain Mark’s beautiful sailboat. We sailed past all of the best sights from Sullivan’s Island to USS Yorktown to the Battery and more. We watched the most stunning sunset while enjoying a glass of wine on the bow of the boat. We even spotted dolphins as we sailed back in the after glow of the sunset! I feel lucky to have had this experience and cannot wait to do it again. It was perfect!

Exit mobile version